Skip to main content

How to upgrade my account and how do I get charged if I upgrade/downgrade?

Learn about how to change your plan and how it affects the billing

Your plan doesn't change automatically when your ad spend changes. You can upgrade or downgrade at any time:

  1. Open the Upgrade page

  2. Move the slider to the plan that suits you and click Subscribe.

When the change takes effect and when you're charged depend on your current plan and the new one. The general rule:

  • Essential → Pro, or a higher spend limit: the plan changes immediately.

  • A lower spend limit: the plan changes when your current billing cycle ends. You stay on your current plan until then.

Your billing company and currency stay the same when you change plans. If you're billed in euros, all amounts below apply in euros with the same numbers.

Case 1. Monthly → Monthly

When you move from one monthly plan to another monthly plan or from one yearly to another yearly, when the plan changes depends on whether:

  • you are switching from Essential to Pro - the plan update happens immediately,

  • you are switching from Pro to Essential - then it depends on whether the new spend limit is higher or lower.

  • the new spend limit is lower - the update will happen once the current billing cycle is over i.e. you will remain on the initial plan for the period you have initially subscribed for.

  • the new spend limit is higher - then the plan is updated immediately.

These are the most common examples, so let's take a closer look at how they work:

Upgrade from monthly to monthly

You purchased a Pro plan $99 on August 15th, you were charged $99 for the August 15 - September 15 billing cycle. Pro plan $99 has $10k ad spend limit. In the middle of the billing period you decided to upgrade to the Pro plan $199. As mentioned above you will not be charged anything right away, instead the next invoice amount will be increased by the difference between what you've already paid and what you owe for the bigger plan. The math here is pretty simple: you used plan $99 for half a month and for another half you were on the $199 plan, so the total cost for the August 15 - September 15 period should be the sum of the halves of these plans.

99/2 + 199/2 = $149 - this is how much this particular billing period will cost.

But you have already paid $99 for this billing cycle, which means the next invoice amount will be increased by (149 - 99) = $50. On September 15th you're billed the $50 on top of the fee for the next billing cycle (September 15 - October 15). Given that on September 15th you're still on the $199 plan it means you'll be billed for the 199 plan, so the total invoice amount will be (199 + 50) = $249.

Downgrade from monthly to monthly

You aren't downgraded immediately. You stay on your current plan for the rest of the month, and the new plan starts with your next billing cycle.

Initial plan

New plan

Plan update

Charge

99 monthly Pro

499 monthly Pro

Immediately

Next invoice includes the prorated difference

499 monthly Pro

99 monthly Pro

When the current cycle ends

When the current cycle ends

49 monthly Essential

149 monthly Essential

Immediately

Next invoice includes the prorated difference

149 monthly Essential

49 monthly Essential

When the current cycle ends

When the current cycle ends

49 monthly Essential

99 monthly Pro

Immediately

Next invoice includes the prorated difference

99 monthly Pro

49 monthly Essential

When the current cycle ends

When the current cycle ends

499 monthly Pro

499 monthly Essential

Immediately

Next invoice includes the prorated difference

Case 2. Yearly → Yearly

Upgrades and downgrades from yearly to yearly are based on the same logic as in Case 1:

  • If you are switching from Essential to Pro - the plan update happens immediately,

  • If you're switching from Pro to Essential, it depends on whether the new spend limit is higher or lower. If the new spend limit is lower, the update will happen once the current yearly billing cycle is over.

Initial plan

New plan

Plan update

Charge

99 yearly Pro

499 yearly Pro

Immediately

Next invoice includes the prorated difference

499 yearly Pro

99 yearly Pro

When the current cycle ends

When the current cycle ends

49 yearly Essential

149 yearly Essential

Immediately

Next invoice includes the prorated difference

149 yearly Essential

49 yearly Essential

When the current cycle ends

When the current cycle ends

49 yearly Essential

99 yearly Pro

Immediately

Next invoice includes the prorated difference

99 yearly Pro

49 yearly Essential

When the current cycle ends

When the current cycle ends

499 yearly Pro

499 yearly Essential

Immediately

Next invoice includes the prorated difference

Case 3. Yearly → Monthly

Changes from yearly to monthly plans take place depending on:

  • if you are switching from Essential to Pro - the plan update happens immediately,

  • if you switching from Pro to Essential it depends on whether the new spend limit is higher or lower. If the new spend limit is lower, the update will happen once the current yearly billing cycle is over i.e. you will remain on the initial plan for the period you have initially subscribed for.

Initial plan

New plan

Plan update

Charge

99 yearly Pro

1799 monthly Pro

When the current year ends

When the current year ends

299 yearly Essential

99 monthly Pro

Immediately

Next invoice includes the prorated difference

Case 4. Monthly → Yearly

Changes from monthly to yearly plans take place depending on:

  • If you are switching from Essential to Pro - the plan update happens immediately,

  • If you're switching from Pro to Essential, it depends on whether the new spend limit is higher or lower. If the new spend limit is lower, the update will happen once the current yearly billing cycle is over i.e. you will remain on the initial plan for the period you have initially subscribed for. If the new spend limit is higher, then the plan is updated immediately.

Initial plan

New plan

Plan update

Charge

99 monthly Pro

499 yearly Pro

Immediately

You will be charged immediately for the difference between the time spent on plan 99 during this month and what you owe for the time left during this year on plan 499

249 monthly Pro

149 yearly Essential

Once the current billing cycle (month) is over

Once the current billing cycle (month) is over

149 monthly Essential

299 yearly Essential

Immediately

You will be charged immediately for the difference between the time spent on plan 149 during this month and what you owe for the time left during this year on plan 299

149 monthly Essential

99 yearly Pro

Immediately

You will be charged immediately for the difference between the time spent on plan 149 during this month and what you owe for the time left during this year on plan 99

Canceling before the end of your billing period

If you cancel before your billing period ends, the remaining amount isn't refunded, whether or not you keep using Birch. See Article 3 of our Terms and Conditions.
​

Still unsure how a change affects you? Ask us in the in-app chat or at support@bir.ch.

Did this answer your question?